Calendar

There's something fun happening at the Sciencenter!

All programs & events are included with museum admission unless otherwise noted.


Saturday, December 7, 11:00 AM

Bonus Showtime! Fire Ecology

Learn all about fire ecology with students from Naturalist Outreach Program at Cornell.

Bonus Showtime! Fire Ecology
Learn More
Saturday, December 7, 2:00 PM

Showtime! Instrument Petting Zoo

Meet, play with and learn about many instruments with Ithaca College chapter of Mu Phi Epsilon.

Showtime! Instrument Petting Zoo
Learn More
Sunday, December 8, 10:00 AM-12:00 PM

Sensory Hours

Parents, caregivers, and children with special sensory needs are invited to engage in a fun, inviting, and accepting environment during special open hours. Museum adjustments include: light and sound reduction, designated quiet spaces with sensory tools, and extra visual signage for safety. Sensory Hours will feature hands-on sensory play activities led by Gorge Falls Therapy.

Sensory Hours
Learn More
December 10 - 13

Science Together: Using Tools

Tuesday, December 10 and Thursday, December 12 at 10:30 AM Wednesday, December 11 and Friday, December 13 at 3:00 PM

Explore the fun and gooey properties of flubber using a variety of tools.

Science Together: Using Tools
Learn More
Saturday, December 14, 11 AM

Bonus Showtime! Whatever Floats Your Boat

Learn about Buoyancy as well as Archimedes and Bernoulli’s Principles. Do hands on experiments with students from (CURB) Cornell Undergraduate Research Board.

Bonus Showtime! Whatever Floats Your Boat
Learn More
Saturday, December 14, 2:00 PM

Showtime! Rapid Prototyping

See the final projects from students of a Rapid Prototyping Class at Cornell.

Showtime! Rapid Prototyping
Learn More
Sunday, December 15, 2:00 PM

Chemsations!

Experience the intriguing world of chemistry as local high school students demonstrate fascinating chemical reactions with color, create bubbles, and experiment with light.

Chemsations!
Learn More
December 17 - 20

Science Together: Categorizing

Tuesday, December 17, and Thursday, December 19 at 10:30 am Wednesday, December 18, and Friday, December 20 at 3:00 pm

Go fish! Then categorize the fish you catch.

Science Together: Categorizing
Learn More
Saturday, December 21, 2pm

Showtime! Dry Ice Show

Enjoy “cool” science demonstrations with a Sciencenter educator!

Showtime! Dry Ice Show
Learn More
Saturday, December 21, 10:30 AM - 12:30 PM

Bonus Showtime! Fine Motor Play

The Cornell B.A.B.Y. lab will be facilitating activities focusing around Fine Motor Play.

Bonus Showtime! Fine Motor Play
Learn More
Wednesday, December 25

The Sciencenter is CLOSED on Wednesday, December 25

The Sciencenter is CLOSED on December 25.

The Sciencenter is CLOSED on Wednesday, December 25
Learn More
December 24 - 27

Science Together: Making Observations

Tuesday, December 24 and Thursday, December 26 at 10:30 AM Friday, December 27 at 3:00 PM

Explore live, wiggly, worms and observe their wriggly movements.

Science Together: Making Observations
Learn More
November 26 - December 31

Sciencenter Store Sale

Stop in to shop for fun, smart, and unforgettable gifts. Store purchases are 10% off for all and 20% off for members (includes regular member discount) now through December 31. Museum admission is not required to shop in the store! Easy parking, great gifts, and a sale! What more could you need?!

Sciencenter Store Sale
Learn More
December 31 - January 3

Science Together: Using tools

Tuesday, December 31, and Thursday, January 2 at 10:30 am Friday, January 3 at 3:00 pm

Use tools to explore the properties of kinetic sand.

Science Together: Using tools
Learn More
Sciencenter
Divider

Find us

Sciencenter 601 1st Street Ithaca, NY 14850
Google map directions

Contact us

Museum & Store Hours

  • Tuesday - Saturday, 10 am - 5 pm*
  • Sunday, 12 pm - 5 pm
  • *Open holiday Mondays and Mondays in July and August, 10 am - 5 pm

Website by Bells Design