About Us

About the Sciencenter

The Sciencenter, a non-profit hands-on science museum in Ithaca, New York, grew out of a volunteer-run science program at a local elementary school. Founded in 1983, the Sciencenter operated from storefronts for nearly a decade. In 1993, the museum opened the first phase of its permanent home. Phase II opened in 1996 and provided additional program space. Phase III, which opened in 2003, expanded the Sciencenter to 32,000 sq. ft. During the decade from 1992-2002, 3,400 volunteers donated 50,000 hours of time to construct the Sciencenter. In 2010, the Sciencenter acquired an additional 8,000 sq. ft. building to support its growing traveling exhibition program.

Today, the Sciencenter is a nationally recognized museum, hosting 100,000 guests in Ithaca each year and reaching over 1.5 million guests worldwide through our traveling exhibitions and outreach programs.

The Sciencenter is accredited by the American Alliance of Museums (AAM) and is a member of the Association of Science-Technology Centers (ASTC) and Association of Children’s Museums (ACM).

Sciencenter mission: Cultivate a broad community of curious, confident, critical thinkers.
Sciencenter vision: A world where people explore, connect, and create through science.

Download our complete history overview


The Sciencenter staff is available to help make your visit a pleasant experience and we look forward to speaking with you.


Senior Leadership

Name/Email Title Ext.
Dean Briere
dbriere@sciencenter.org
Dean Briere Executive Director (Bio) x126
Chris Fagan
cfagan@sciencenter.org
Chris Fagan VP of Administration x130
Michelle Kortenaar
mkortenaar@sciencenter.org
Michelle Kortenaar VP of Strategic Development x124
Kirby Jones
kjones@sciencenter.org
Kirby Jones VP of Museum Environments x135

Engagement and Learning

Name/Email Title Ext.
Ali Jackson
ajackson@sciencenter.org
Ali Jackson Director of Partnerships x144
Donna Bodenstein
dbodenstein@sciencenter.org
Donna Bodenstein Manager of Guest Relations x116
Judy Ammack
jammack@sciencenter.org
Judy Ammack Manager of Volunteers x110
Bethany Resnick
bresnick@sciencenter.org
Bethany Resnick Education Programs Manager x120
Emily Belle
ebelle@sciencenter.org
Emily Belle Education Program Coordinator x149
Annie Gordon
agordon@sciencenter.org
Annie Gordon Educator x
OPEN
OPEN Educator x
Patricia Flery
pflery@sciencenter.org
Patricia Flery Museum Greeter x121
Matthew Griffin
mgriffin@sciencenter.org
Matthew Griffin Museum Greeter x121
Melaney Peacock
mpeacock@sciencenter.org
Melaney Peacock Museum Greeter x121
Judy Stock
jstock@sciencenter.org
Judy Stock Museum Greeter x121

External Relations

Name/Email Title Ext.
Josiah Jacobus-Parker
jjacobus-parker@sciencenter.org
Josiah Jacobus-Parker Annual Fund and Membership Manager x119
Sharon Smallwood
ssmallwood@sciencenter.org
Sharon Smallwood Traveling Exhibitions Manager x128
Kelly Barclay
kbarclay@sciencenter.org
Kelly Barclay Public and Media Relations Manager x114
Alli Sribarra
asribarra@sciencenter.org
Alli Sribarra Director of Foundation and Corporate Relations x133
Alexis Falise
afalise@sciencenter.org
Alexis Falise Advancement Coordinator x118

Finance and Administration

Name/Email Title Ext.
OPEN
OPEN Benefits Administrator/Bookkeeper x130

Museum Environments

Name/Email Title Ext.
Colin Meeks
cmeeks@sciencenter.org
Colin Meeks Manager of Live Collections x132
Mike Napierski
mnapierski@sciencenter.org
Mike Napierski Facilities Manager x142
Lucas Fredericks
lfredericks@sciencenter.org
Lucas Fredericks Exhibit Fabricator x146
Emily Belle
ebelle@sciencenter.org
Emily Belle Animal Keeper x149
Matthew Griffin
mgriffin@sciencenter.org
Matthew Griffin Animal Keeper x121
Kathy Krafft
kkrafft@sciencenter.org
Kathy Krafft Exhibit Fabricator x125
Julian Pompilio
jpompilio@sciencenter.org
Julian Pompilio Exhibit Fabricator x143
Brian Quan
bquan@sciencenter.org
Brian Quan Exhibit Fabricator x137
Cass Barbour
cbarbour@sciencenter.org
Cass Barbour Project Manager x155

Sciencenter Board of Trustees

  • Melinda Oakes, Chair
  • Laurie Robinson, Vice Chair
  • Mark Kreydt, Secretary
  • John Saunders, Treasurer
  • Greg Galvin, Past Chair
  • Nicole Eversley Bradwell
  • A.J. Edwards
  • George Gull
  • Seth Hiland
  • Mark Hurwitz
  • Richard Kiely
  • Heather McDaniel
  • Sunny Miller
  • Kara Pass
  • Jason Sanford
  • Shawn Wilczynski
  • Dean Briere, Ex-officio


Sciencenter Advisory Board

John Alexander, Warren Allmon, Bill Bassett, Brian Bauer, Walt Cottrell, Ann Druyan, Jennifer Engel, Sarah Evanega, Gary Ferguson, David Fernandez, Russ Givens, Michael Goldstein, Mary Grainger, Janet Hawkes, Lindsey Hayes, Kim Holloway, Carolyn Horner, Laurie Johnston, Denise Lee, Debbie Levin, Ilma Levine, Bruce Lewenstein, Bob McGuire, Susan Mittler, Lorraine Moynihan Schmitt, Svante Myrick, John Neuman, Michael Nolan, Bill Nye, Tom O’Rourke, Mason Peck, Nancy Potter, Rick Prybyl, Frank Rhodes, Martha Robertson, Frank Robinson, Tacie Saltonstall, Lynnette Scofield, Arthur Shull, Michael Stamm, Blixy Taetzsch, Jennifer Tavares, Yervant Terzian, Bruce Thompson, Marguerite Uphoff, Tom Van Derzee, Charlie Walcott, Sean Whittaker, Gary Woloszyn, Amy Yale-Loehr, and Gene Yarussi.

Get Involved Press Resources
Sciencenter
Divider

Find us

Sciencenter 601 1st Street Ithaca, NY 14850
Google map directions

Contact us

Museum & Store Hours

  • Tuesday - Saturday, 10 am - 5 pm*
  • Sunday, 12 pm - 5 pm
  • *Open holiday Mondays and Mondays in July and August, 10 am - 5 pm

Website by Bells Design