About Us

About the Sciencenter

The Sciencenter, a non-profit hands-on science museum in Ithaca, New York, grew out of a volunteer-run science program at a local elementary school. Founded in 1983, the Sciencenter operated from storefronts for nearly a decade. In 1993, the museum opened the first phase of its permanent home. Phase II opened in 1996 and provided additional program space. Phase III, which opened in 2003, expanded the Sciencenter to 32,000 sq. ft. During the decade from 1992-2002, 3,400 volunteers donated 50,000 hours of time to construct the Sciencenter. In 2010, the Sciencenter acquired an additional 8,000 sq. ft. building to support its growing traveling exhibition program.

Today, the Sciencenter is a nationally recognized museum, hosting 100,000 guests in Ithaca each year and reaching over 1.5 million guests worldwide through our traveling exhibitions and outreach programs.

The Sciencenter is accredited by the American Alliance of Museums (AAM) and is a member of the Association of Science-Technology Centers (ASTC) and Association of Children’s Museums (ACM).

Sciencenter mission: Cultivate a broad community of curious, confident, critical thinkers.
Sciencenter vision: A world where people explore, connect, and create through science.

Download our complete history overview

Download our 2019-2023 Strategic Framework


The Sciencenter staff is available to help make your visit a pleasant experience and we look forward to speaking with you.


Senior Leadership

Name/Email Title Ext.
Dean Briere
dbriere@sciencenter.org
Dean Briere Executive Director (Bio) x126
Chris Fagan
cfagan@sciencenter.org
Chris Fagan CFO and VP of Administration x130
Michelle Kortenaar
mkortenaar@sciencenter.org
Michelle Kortenaar VP of Strategic Development x124
Jennifer Schwade
jschwade@sciencenter.org
Jennifer Schwade Vice President of Education x134
Adrienne Testa
atesta@sciencenter.org
Adrienne Testa Vice President of Museum Experiences x135

Sciencenter Staff

Name/Email Title Ext.
Cass Barbour
cbarbour@sciencenter.org
Cass Barbour Project Manager x155
Kelly Barclay
kbarclay@sciencenter.org
Kelly Barclay Public and Media Relations Manager x114
Emily Belle
ebelle@sciencenter.org; volunteer@sciencenter.org
Emily Belle Volunteer Programs Manager x149
Donna Bodenstein
dbodenstein@sciencenter.org
Donna Bodenstein Manager of Guest Relations x116
Patricia Flery
pflery@sciencenter.org
Patricia Flery Museum Greeter x121
Lucas Fredericks
lfredericks@sciencenter.org
Lucas Fredericks Exhibit Fabricator x146
Gwen Gallagher
ggallagher@sciencenter.org
Gwen Gallagher Museum Greeter x121
Annie Gordon
agordon@sciencenter.org
Annie Gordon Educator x123
Matthew Griffin
mgriffin@sciencenter.org
Matthew Griffin Museum Greeter; Animal Keeper x121
Kodi Hopkins
khopkins@sciencenter.org
Kodi Hopkins Museum Greeter x121
Ali Jackson
ajackson@sciencenter.org
Ali Jackson Director of Partnerships x144
Josiah Jacobus-Parker
jjacobus-parker@sciencenter.org
Josiah Jacobus-Parker Annual Fund and Membership Manager x119
Kathy Krafft
kkrafft@sciencenter.org
Kathy Krafft Exhibit Fabricator x125
Peter Leipzig
pLeipzig@sciencenter.org
Peter Leipzig Education Program Coordinator x145
Elizabeth McDonald
emcdonald@sciencenter.org
Elizabeth McDonald Education Program Coordinator x148
Colin Meeks
cmeeks@sciencenter.org
Colin Meeks Manager of Live Collections x132
Mike Napierski
mnapierski@sciencenter.org
Mike Napierski Facilities Manager x142
Ryan Opila
ropila@sciencenter.org
Ryan Opila Grants and Administrative Coordinator x111
Julian Pompilio
jpompilio@sciencenter.org
Julian Pompilio Exhibit Fabricator x143
Brian Quan
bquan@sciencenter.org
Brian Quan Exhibit Fabricator x137
Sharon Smallwood
ssmallwood@sciencenter.org
Sharon Smallwood Traveling Exhibitions Manager x128
Alli Sribarra
asribarra@sciencenter.org
Alli Sribarra Director of Foundation and Corporate Relations x133
Judy Stock
jstock@sciencenter.org
Judy Stock Museum Greeter x121
Cori Thompson
cthompson@sciencenter.org
Cori Thompson Museum Greeter x121
Lillian Tomik
ltomik@sciencenter.org
Lillian Tomik Advancement Coordinator x118
Lyla White
lwhite@sciencenter.org
Lyla White Educator x147

Sciencenter Board of Trustees

  • Melinda Oakes, Chair
  • Laurie Robinson, Vice Chair
  • Sunshine Miller, Secretary
  • Jason Sanford, Treasurer
  • Greg Galvin, Past Chair
  • Fernando de Aragon
  • John Birmingham
  • Michael Britt
  • A.J. Edwards
  • George Gull
  • Seth Hiland
  • Mark Hurwitz
  • Richard Kiely
  • Heather McDaniel
  • Eric Toftegaard
  • John Turner
  • Lisa Whitaker
  • Shawn Wilczynski
  • Qi Zhang
  • Dean Briere, Ex-officio
Board 2019 1

Sciencenter Advisory Board

John Alexander, Warren Allmon, William Bassett, Brian Bauer, Walt Cottrell, Sarah Davidson Evanega, Ann Druyan, Jennifer Engel, Gary Ferguson, David Fernandez, Russell Givens, Michael Goldstein, Mary Grainger, Janet Hawkes, Lindsey Hayes, Kim Holloway, Carolyn Horner, Laurie Johnston, Denise Lee, Deborah Levin, Ilma Levine, Bruce Lewenstein, Robert McGuire, Susan Mittler, Lorraine Moynihan Schmitt, Svante Myrick, John Neuman, Michael Nolan, William Nye, Thomas O’Rourke, Mason Peck, Nancy Potter, Richard Prybyl, Martha Robertson, Franklin Robinson, Tacie Saltonstall, Helene Schember, Lynette Scofield, Arthur Shull, Blixy Taetzsch, Jennifer Tavares, Yervant Terzian, Bruce Thompson, Marguerite Uphoff, Thomas VanDerzee, Charles Walcott, Sean Whittaker, Amy Yale-Loehr, Gene Yarussi

Get Involved Press Resources
Sciencenter
Divider

Find us

Sciencenter 601 1st Street Ithaca, NY 14850
Google map directions

Contact us

Museum & Store Hours

  • Tuesday - Saturday, 10 am - 5 pm*
  • Sunday, 12 pm - 5 pm
  • *Open holiday Mondays and Mondays in July and August, 10 am - 5 pm

Website by Bells Design